Backing up your work

Please, please everyone back up your work. I had a scare this morning when pc asked for a Windows XP password – completely out of the blue. The password hint said “red” I spent two hours with a dictionary putting in everything that began with “red”. I knew it was not a password we had ever put in, because the entire family uses the same password for everything.

Close to tears I woke up technoson, who thankfully fixed it in five minutes. I was so relieved I was a bit rash and gave him twenty quid!

All I could think of was my book – I didn’t care about anything else. I had backed the first draft on a memory stick, but all my precious editing over the past five weeks or so would have been lost.

4 thoughts on “Backing up your work

  1. Glad you got it sorted.Graeme K Talboys did a great post about backing up. His link is on my page. I think the post was in September. It’s invaluable.Also, I email chapters to myself (to a web based email ie. gmail or hotmail) just to be on the safe side.Stay safe:-)

  2. Hi! Just wanted to say thanks to your daughter! That was very kind of her to leave such a kind message! I appreciate it. Have a great day whatever you do. X

  3. How ghastly. I would have been completely hysterical. Im now going to read that link on Lane’s site. So relieved for you that it was all sorted in the end.

Leave a Reply

