Monday, 24th September

Monday, 24th September

Keywords for the day: Shooting Stars

Tonight, the sky is almost clear in Kettering after a day of heavy rain and dark satanic mills skies. After an earlier conversation about shooting stars, my daughter rang me to tell me she had seen three meteors.  I went out into the garden and after a few minutes saw a shooting star split into three, brief starlets. My eldest son and husband then joined me and we saw an orangey-coloured streak across the sky as another meteor entered the earth’s atmosphere. I told my son he should make a wish.

As I stared into the heavens, trying to prioritise my own wishes, David Bowie began singing ‘Starman’ in my head.

There’s a starman waiting in the sky
He’d like to come and meet us
But he thinks he’d blow our minds
There’s a starman waiting in the sky
He’s told us not to blow it
Cause he knows it’s all worthwhile

For a few seconds I was back in 1972, gazing out of my bedroom window into the night sky listening to David Bowie on my little black transistor radio.  What would I have wished for as a sixteen-year old searching for a shooting star?  I glanced at my son, and my eyes filled with tears of pride as I knew that he was one of 1972’s three most precious wishes.

So, what did I wish for tonight? Well … that would be telling, wouldn’t it?

Leave a Reply

