Thursday, 27th September

Thursday, 27th September

Keywords for the day: The Scarlet Pimpernel

Fred Terry in the Scarlet Pimpernel

One of the most colourful characters in literature has to be Sir Percy Blakeney, The Scarlet Pimpernel, created by Baroness Orczy. Nowadays, the term is used more broadly to describe a person who is daring, mysterious, or evasive.

“We seek him here, we seek him there,
Those Frenchies seek him everywhere.
Is he in heaven?—Is he in hell?
That demned, elusive Pimpernel.”

Last week, I was the Scarlet Pimpernel. Okay … okay … I can hear you all laughing.  Me? Daring, mysterious and evasive? You have got to be joking,” I can hear all the mutterings across cyberspace. Well, I can now reveal that, last week, I very secretly replicated this website/blog and stowed it away in a private place. One adjective that does describe me  appropriately is intuitive. You see, before I signed a contract to publish The White Cuckoo, and handed over my precious Blogspot blog into the hands of a domain controlled by others who used WordPress, I just had a feeling that I needed a safe, secret WordPress haven, and so I made sure I had a blank canvass for ‘Annieye’ and copied just one post onto it.

At the beginning of last week, I just knew that an unseen hand was going to slither and snake its way through the airwaves and pull the plug on my website/blog if I didn’t act like the elusive, bold and daring Scarlet Pimpernel. The sense of urgency was overpowering and I could have cried and stamped my feet with frustration when, on Thursday evening last week, I had to unexpectedly cover The Rural Forum meeting at work, thus stealing away the precious minutes ticking away before all the posts and pages I had painstakingly created might disappear.

Today, after another superhero, Captain Black, had checked it out thoroughly for me, to make sure I hadn’t inadvertently left any bits of old code buried inside it’s ‘brain’, I could finally breathe again. The Captain even paid me a compliment: he reckoned that for someone who isn’t a technie, I hadn’t done a bad job.

(I now have my hands around my head, trying to squeeze it back into its normal size!)

One thought on “Thursday, 27th September

Leave a Reply

