Seven

A while ago I wrote a post about the number three. Every time I looked at the clock, there was a three in the time. You can read it here.

Just lately it’s the number seven.

A couple of weeks ago I had a very unsettling experience with social media, which I won’t go into. I decided to keep away from it for a while. After all, Facebook and Blogging are not real life, and real life is what matters. This is where social media is quite dangerous, I think. We should never forget that social media is not always a nice, fluffy place, and there are always people who will poke around the edges of propriety and good manners.

This morning my faith in social media was restored with an absolutely brilliant review of The White Cuckoo by Jo Skehan (you can read it by clicking on the link to Jo’s blog). I have made some lovely friends through social media, most of them writers. It never ceases to amaze me what a cohesive and supportive world there is out there when you are a writer.

After the bad experience, despite remaining totally silent, I received seven supportive e-mails and messages, six of them from people I have never met in real life.  I felt the warm, fluffy band of lovely facebook and blogging writing friends surround me, but still I shied away from it, afraid to open up even my own blog in case there was a nasty comment there.

Then, one day last week, after taking my grandchildren to school, I had a brief conversation with my son-in-law. A friend had commented about how polite and well-mannered my eight year-old grandson was. “Give me a child until he is seven and I will show you the man,” I said to Lee. I couldn’t remember where the quote had come from, though, although having googled it to find out, it is allegedly attributed to St Francis Xavier, the founder of the Jesuits.

All the time now, the number seven has kept cropping up.

At lunchtime yesterday I had a peep to see how many e-books I had sold so far this month. Yes – it is seven!

And today is the 7th February and Jo Skehan has fully restored my faith and enjoyment in social media, so thanks Jo. You are a star!

2 thoughts on “Seven

  1. Poor you Anne, I had no idea you were having a rotten time. I do hope it is all resolved now, sounds nasty. I do hope that you feel you are supported here by your virtual friends. It is a weird thing to behold….being friends with someone never seen, never spoken with and never in the physical world with us. But I do feel that we are all still friends in every way a physical friend might be. Not all friends see each other often or talk often but when they meet up after a time apart, can take up a conversation where it was left on parting, as if no time had passed. I think of my virtual friends like that….as if they have left the room for a while and will be back later to take up the thread as if nothing had happened in between. So we are all here – don’t forget it. Great your sold 7 books this month – 7 more than me! I can see you building and building sales and success and if it is a slow progress, not to worry…..all good things come to those who wait.

Leave a Reply

